Tuesday, December 31 2013 11:32

Rewind: DJ Earworm - UNITED STATE OF POP 2013 (Living the Fantasy)

Written by
  • While all content is editorially chosen, articles may contain affiliate links which may generate revenue for the site when a purchase is made.

As we close the books on 2013, it's only appropriate that I feature this latest mashup from DJ Earworm. Having started his annual UNITED STATE OF POP series several years ago (2007, I think), they've become a tradition in recapping a full year's worth of pop hits in one masterful mashup.  "United State of Pop 2013 (Living the Fantasy)" was released earlier this month and features 25 of the year's biggest hits, all worked into one mix, complete with a video. It's "clean," too, which makes it family-friendly. Check it out below...

If you dig the track, you can purchase it from Legitmix, a site that supports remixers and the artists that they've sampled.

The 25 Tracks Featured on "United State of Pop 2013" are:

  • Avicii feat. Aloe Blacc - Wake Me Up
  • Bruno Mars - When I Was Your Man
  • Capital Cities - Safe & Sound
  • Daft Punk feat. Pharrell Williams - Get Lucky
  • Eminem feat. Rihanna - The Monster
  • Florida Georgia Line feat. Nelly - Cruise
  • Imagine Dragons - Radioactive
  • Imagine Dragons - Demons
  • Jay-Z feat. Justin Timberlake - Holy Grail
  • Justin Timberlake - Mirrors
  • Justin Timberlake feat. Jay-Z - Suit & Tie
  • Katy Perry - Roar
  • Lady Gaga - Applause
  • Lorde - Royals
  • Macklemore & Ryan Lewis feat. Ray Dalton - Can't Hold Us
  • Macklemore & Ryan Lewis feat. Wanz - Thrift Shop
  • Miley Cyrus - Wrecking Ball
  • Miley Cyrus - We Can't Stop
  • OneRepublic - Counting Stars
  • P!nk feat. Nate Ruess - Just Give Me A Reason
  • Rihanna - Stay
  • Robin Thicke feat. Pharrell & T.I. - Blurred Lines
  • Swedish House Mafia feat. John Martin - Don't You Worry Child
  • Taylor Swift - I Knew You Were Trouble
  • Will.I.Am feat. Britney Spears - Scream And Shout

Albums featured in "United State of Pop 2013" -

James Zahn

James Zahn is best-known as The Rock Father™, a media personality, commentator, adventurer and raconteur. He is the Owner, Publisher, and Editor-in-Chief of THE ROCK FATHER™ Magazine. In January, 2019, after nearly a decade of publishing The Rock Father™ Magazine, he joined Adventure Media and Events as Senior Editor of The Toy Book—the leading trade publication for the toy industry since 1984, as well as The Pop Insider — a destination for all things pop culture, and The Toy Insider — the leading consumer guide for toys and games. He is also editor of The Toy Report, a weekly newsletter published by The Toy Book each Thursday. Zahn has over 27 years of experience in the entertainment, retail and publishing industries.

He regularly serves as a Brand Ambassador and spokesperson for several Globally-recognized pop culture and lifestyle brands in addition to consulting for a number of toy manufacturers. 

Creatively, James has directed/edited music videos, lyric videos, and album trailers for bands such as FEAR FACTORY, has appeared as an actor in feature films and commercials, written comic books, and performed in bands. He currently serves as an artist manager and video director for PRODUCT OF HATE, whose debut album was released by Napalm Records in 2016, distributed by ADA/Warner Music in the U.S. with Universal Music handling global. A new album has been completed and is set for release this year.

Zahn and/or his work have been featured in/on CNN, NBC, ABC, WGN, CBS, GCTN, G4, The Chicago Tribune, Forbes, MarketWatch, Reuters, BusinessWire, Fangoria, Starlog and more. He's appeared as a music expert on CNN's AC360 alongside Anderson Cooper, and has been interviewed by Larry King. In the past he served as a writer for the Netflix Stream Team,  Fandango Family and PBS KIDS, penned articles for Sprout and PopSugar, and was a contributor to Chicago Parent.

Learn more here

Connect with James on Facebook or Twitter.