Last year, audiences embraced WONDER, the cinematic adaptation of author R.J. Palacio's #1 New York Times best-selling book. Starring Julia Roberts, Owen Wilson and Jacob Tremblay, the story of 10-year old Auggie Pullman was brought to life on screen - the inspirational journey of a child faced with a host of challenges as he makes the jump from homeschool to middle school, fighting to fit-in as a child with Treacher Collins Syndrome. At the heart of the story is a message of kindness that's been resonating with readers since 2012, and thanks to the success of the film, Random House Children’s Books has been continuing the movement to inspire families, educators and young readers nationwide to #ChooseKind as they seek to foster a culture of inclusion, where bullying no longer exists.

March marks Women's History Month, and this year there's a new book on-sale that's a fitting celebration... Franny's Father is a Feminist. Written by Rhonda Leet with illustrations by Megan Walker, this new title from POW! Kids spins a familiar father-daughter tale that looks to hit home here as I raise both of my daughters in much the same manner as Franny's father. Check out a preview...

Halloween ComicFest 2017 will take place on Saturday, October 28, and this year's event looks to be a great one! Following in the tradition of Free Comic Book Day (every May), local comic shops will open their doors to welcome guests with a new selection of 30 titles representing something for the whole family. Of the 30 titles overall, 18 are Full Size and 12 are Mini Comics. All will be available for free on Saturday, October 28th and the Mini Comics will be available for purchase in packs of 25 for $4.99 - perfect to give to trick-or-treaters on Halloween. To find a participating store near you, check out the locator on the official HCF site, and be sure to check out the full rundown of books below!

Life of Agony bassist Alan Robert has been rocking the comics world over the past few years, working as the horror illustrator & writer behind several award-winning titles through IDW Publishing (Crawl to Me, Killogy, Wire Hangers, The Shunned One). His breakout title, however, was actually a grownup coloring book - 2016's The Beauty of Horror: A GOREgeous Coloring Book. The crew over at Nerdist hailed it as being "The World's Creepiest Adult Coloring Book" and it was IDW's #2 top-selling book last year. Now, Alan is back for seconds, giving his book what all great horror tales command... a sequel. For Halloween 2017, The Beauty of Horror 2: Ghouliana's Creepatorium - Another GOREgeous Coloring Book has hit the streets, and today it takes its place in our annual 31 Days of Halloween Countdown. Check out a preview...

From Scholastic and author Laura Terry comes GRAVEYARD SHAKES, a new graphic novel that's hit bookshelves just in-time for Halloween! Light and spooky with a style that should play well for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Neil Gaiman, Graveyard Shakes makes an appearance here in 31 Days of Halloween with a special 6-page preview below. Check it out!

The Rock Father™ and Scholastic have teamed-up to celebrate the launch of an all-new book series for young readers - HILDE CRACKS THE CASE. The first book, Hero Dog! (Hilde Cracks the Case #1) just hit bookstores, introducing readers to the adventures of real-life ten-year-old crime reporter Hilde Lysiak. Each book in the series is inspired by news stories that Hilde wrote in real-life, and they're presented here particularly geared toward readers 5-8. As part of the launch, we're giving readers of THE ROCK FATHER™ Magazine a shot at winning a Hero Dog! Prize Pack featuring the new book plus a Vtech Kidizoom Smartwatch!

Grammy-winning country icon, best-selling author, actress, and in-demand speaker, Naomi Judd is set to release the paperback version of her new book, “River of Time: My Descent Into Depression and How I Emerged With Hope” on Dec. 5. Judd will be promoting the paperback release with multiple television, radio and online interviews, including an appearance on the TODAY Show Dec. 5.

Friday, August 18 2017 10:35

Wizard Magazine is Attempting a Comeback...

Written by

They say that “Nothing stays dead in comics,” and that's exactly how the folks at Wizard World led off the announcement that they're getting back into the editorial fold with a "digital re-imagination, re-conception and re-launch of Wizard, as part of a new digital initiative which includes WizPop, a daily pop-culture news service reporting on the biggest stories of the day in pop-culture, entertainment, and fandom." Set to officially relaunch at Wizard World Comic Con Chicago (August 24-27, 2017), they say that "plans are in the works to return to publishing Wizard as a premium quarterly magazine." Magazines are a hard thing to relaunch in either print or digital, and that's something I have a little experience with myself.

Adolescence is always such an awkward time, and for years, American Girl has been helping girls and their parents to navigate those choppy waters. Now, American Girl is reaching out to boys and their parents, offering  advice in a new book, Guy Stuff: The Body Book for BoysWritten by Dr. Cara Natterson, board-certified pediatrician and author of American Girl's famous The Care and Keeping of YouThe Body Book for Girls series, this new book is geared toward boys ages 8+, and aims to help them prepare for body changes in the years ahead. This new book covers everything from hair care to healthy eating, bad breath to shaving, acne to voice cracking, pubic changes to moodiness, peer pressure to bullying, and more.

Brought to you in collaboration between The Rock Father™ and Grand Central Publishing

From the page to the screen, JASON BOURNE is one of the most popular and compelling characters in contemporary fiction. Originally created by bestselling author Robert Ludlum, the Jason Bourne series continues with stories by New York Times bestselling writer Eric Van Lustbader, and this month ROBERT LUDLUM’S THE BOURNE INITIATIVE, the 14th book in the Jason Bourne series hit bookstores. To celebrate its release, The Rock Father™ is giving you a shot at winning a hardcover copy of THE BOURNE INITIATIVE along with a $50 VISA Gift Card good toward an "initiative" of your choosing. Are you ready for action?

With the news that Gwendoline Christie would be returning as Captain Phasma for Star Wars: The Last Jedi, a big mystery was created in the galaxy: How did she survive the destruction of Starkiller Base in the final moments of Star Wars: The Force Awakens? The answer to that question will be revealed a few months prior to the latest Star Wars film, when writer Kelly Thompson (Hawkeye, Star Wars Annual) teams with artist Marco Checchetto (Star Wars: Shattered Empire, Star Wars: Screaming Citadel) for JOURNEY TO STAR WARS: THE LAST JEDI – CAPTAIN PHASMA, a four-part miniseries bridging the events between Star Wars: The Force Awakens and the upcoming Star Wars: The Last Jedi!

I feel it's time to remind America of something... are you ready? No matter what your political affiliation or lack thereof, it's okay to make fun of our President. It's also perfectly acceptable to question, challenge and take shots at your elected officials. Respect doesn't come with an office or position - it has to be earned. Political humor is timeless, and if you're the President of The United States of America, you are fair game. In my lifetime, I always think of Saturday Night Live and Chevy Chase as Gerald Ford as the benchmark - the earliest clips I can recall. I see people complaining on Twitter about Alec Baldwin as Trump, yet those same folks have no doubt laughed it up about other actors playing Obama, Bush, Clinton, Reagan, Nixon, Carter and all of their opponents. It doesn't make any sense, because it is always acceptable to make fun of the President - always. On the printed page, MAD Magazine holds a long history of political humor, and if I recall correctly, it was my dad who bought me my first MAD Magazine (I went though an era of the 80s where I was a regular reader). Now, they're keeping that tradition alive in an era where the jokes write themselves. MAD About Trump: A Brilliant Look at Our Brainless President is out June 20th, and today the folks at DC Comics sent over a preview to Rock Father HQ, and I'm sharing it with you. I don't post a lot about politics here on the site, but as a registered Independent that cannot fully identify with any political party in this country (or any other), I say, "Joke 'Em All!" Anyone remember the comic book, "Great Morons in History: Dan Quayle?" I had that one...

Page 1 of 7

ROCK FATHER™ TV: New Videos from YouTube